Day in the Life of a Library School Student – Monday

This week, I am participating in Hack Library School’s Library Student Day in the Life project, along with a lot of other graduate students around the country. I decided to do this project because I thought it would be really interesting to see how other students’ experiences are similar to and different from mine. I’m really quite full of stress right now. It’s Week 9 of our 10 week quarter, I’m graduating in June and trying to start job-searching, and my portfolio (the culminating object of the UCLA MLIS program) is due in about six weeks. Still, I started this program because I wanted a new career that I could be passionate about, and that is exactly what I’ve found in librarianship. So, I’m excited to hear about what other aspiring information professionals are doing in their programs/lives.

Typically, I work from 9-3 on Mondays in Library Special Collections at UCLA. When I started the MLIS program, my specialization was Archival Studies. Since then, I have shifted my focus back to libraries, but I have kept my part-time processing position. I work primarily with Performing Arts special collections, and it’s really a lot of fun. Today, I was working on processing some scripts, but I ended up leaving early because I wasn’t feeling well. Before I left campus though, I had to stop at the library to pick up a book that I needed for a research project in my Literacy, Readers, and Reading class.

photo-3

After I got a little bit of rest and took care of some pesky mail/bills, I got back to work. I am an officer for our UCLA Special Libraries Association chapter, and I am currently working on two different events. One is a career panel, and the other is L.A. Dodgers Night. Today I managed to get a room reserved for the career panel, finalize the Dodgers Night flyers, and write the official ticket/event announcement.

Tonight, after I make dinner (cheese ravioli, for Meatless Monday!) I hope to work on the presentation I have to give in Collection Development this Wednesday and do some reading for my Wednesday classes. Hopefully, I’ll have time to do another blog update afterwards!

Leave a Reply

