HLS Day in the Life – Wednesday!

So, I’m still participating in the Hack Library School Day in the Life project! It’s day 3 now.

On Wednesdays, I’m in class for most of the day. My morning class, Literacy, Readers, and Reading, is really fascinating. I’ve been thinking about my final project, which I think I’m going to do on recommendations and reviews from various sources and how readers select from them. It’s sort of an extension of something I’ve been researching for my portfolio issue paper. I’m also making a website as the final project instead of just writing a research paper, so I think it’ll be a really great experience!

Before class, I was also able to talk to some fellow UCLA SLA members about our Dodger night plans. Later in the day, I hung up a few flyers around the Information Studies building, sent out the official announcement on our department listserv, and I’ll hopefully get an email sent out tonight about setting up times to sell tickets in person as well.

This is what I had for lunch today:

Image

This is a fine example of the $3.50 pizza that is sold on campus near where the UCLA Information Studies classes are held. After you factor in the low cost, it’s surprisingly edible. I eat this far too often.

Then, in my collection development class, we did the first round of final project presentations and had a great guest speaker who was a school librarian. I think that my presentation went fairly well, and now next week I can just relax and watch the rest! We also talked about something which I had never heard of before this week, the Public Lending Right. Apparently, in Australia, the UK, Canada, and Europe authors are compensated for library circulations of their copyrighted works. It seems to strange to me after studying the U.S. copyright system last quarter!

Also today, I’m having a lot of paranoid thoughts about my final quarter in grad school. (what if I’m picking the wrong classes? the wrong internship? will it ruin my employment chances forever?) I know that this is overly dramatic and not at all accurate, but it sneaks up on me every now and again. It could also be a side effect of the fact that I’m very possibly getting sick. Luckily, Wednesdays are also the day that I see all of my amazing friends from my cohort on campus, and that always makes everything better!

Tonight, I need to do a few more things:

  • get through all of my emails
  • start reading Reading Lolita in Tehran
  • make a new schoolwork plan for the next week
  • hopefully watch the episode of Southland that is on my DVR
Leave a Reply

